Igor Travels Abroad

"In the end, we only regret the chances we didn't take."

North Sea in Germany

Leave a comment

On Friday, I departed to the North Sea for the weekend with my host-mom, dad, and Bella (my host-dog). Since I injured my leg, I couldn’t run in the Cologne marathon, which was something I was looking forward to for 3 months.

My host-brother stayed home and he ran for our school’s marathon team. Today he ran 7.2 kilometers for the team.

Friday evening, we arrived to our vacation house in the North Sea. It was very windy and seemed like a tornado was sweeping through the town. It was typical 😀

Between my host mom and I, the word typical is an ongoing joke. When I first went to the doctor when I had a severe cold, since I was sick, he said ,” How are you? What’s wrong?”

I looked at my mom and didn’t say a word.

He got the expression on his face thinking, “My God, your son is 16 years old and you didn’t teach him German?”

She told him I was an exchange student from America.

He said what I had was typical.

And everything here is “typical”

So the weather at the North Sea was “typical”.

That night, we went to a very good Greek restaurant and had pork with cheese and rice. Also, I tried the best German beer I have ever had. It was a type of beer made 5 miles from where the restaurant was. It was with lemonade, so it tasted great.

Later that night, I read a book called , “The $100 Startup” (http://100startup.com/), a wonderful book on entrepreneurship and listened to music.

We went to the beach the next day and I got to see the largest marina in Europe and biggest oil plant in Germany. We went shopping and I bought a new sweatshirt and scarf. We went to a traditional German restaurant in the evening and ate hog with potatoes, Krautsalad, and another salad with sour cream and cucumber. It tasted very good! The hog was to hard to eat with a fork and knife, so I took it to our house in the North and ate it at home. (I could care less in the US, but eating with your hand in Europe is kind of a no no 🙂

Today, my host dad and I cleaned our driveway of some moss and leaves and then we all went for a walk to the airport and then to the beach, which was a UNESCO heritage site. It was very nice. We got home this evening and we all had a wonderful time 🙂

Front of School

Front of My School

My School

Back of My School

Cow at North Sea

Cow at North Sea

Carolinensiel

Carolinensiel and I

Fields at North Sea

Fields at North Sea

Nurdachhaus

Nurdachhaus “Roof House”

More animals

More Animals

Harbor

At The Harbor

Farms and "Sea Hill Sheep"

Farms and “Sea Hill Sheep”

A Seagull

A Seagull at The Docks

UNESCO Heritage Site

UNESCO Heritage Site

A View Near My House

 A View Near My House

And finally,

Sunset

The Sunset at Home

Thanks for reading.

Have a great day,

Igor

Author: Igor

If people aren't laughing at your dreams, your dreams aren't big enough.

Express Yourself!

